Declaration for Establishing the Eastern Africa Greens Federation | Rwanda
Default environment

You are here

Status message

The webform component civicrm_contact is not able to be displayed

Declaration for Establishing the Eastern Africa Greens Federation

Eastern Africa Greens Congress
Eastern Africa Greens Congress

Members of the Eastern Africa Greens Federation, from Democratic Green Party of Rwanda, Mazingira Green Party of Kenya, Ecological Party of Uganda and Burundi Green Movement, who met in Kigali, Rwanda from 8th to 9th November 2013, made the following resolutions:

  • Established the Eastern Africa Greens Federation, with headquarters in Kampala, Uganda;
  • Elected an Executive Committee headed by Dr.Charles Maringo from Kenya;
  • Committed to strengthening and working together in promoting the green ideology in Eastern Africa;
  • Committed to working together on key environmental issues on climate change, extractive industry and the Green economy to promote sustainable development in the region;
  • Committed to promote, defend and respect human rights in the region of Eastern Africa;
  • Reiterated it's support to the International Criminal Court (ICC) for its service to the interests of the common man in Eastern Africa;
  • Committed to promoting transparency and accountability, and other good governance principles, to ensure equitable distribution of resources to end the untold misery of people living in unbearable poverty conditions


The East African Greens Congress,  held in Kigali between 8th-9th November, resolved to establish the Eastern Africa Greens Federation to allow future members from Somalia and South Sudan, who are not yet part of the East African Community.

The Executive Committee is composed of the following members: President: Dr.Charles Maringo from Kenya, V/P: Ms.Carine Maombi from Rwanda, Secretary General: Ms. Robinah K. Nanyunja from Uganda,Treasurer:Ms.Florence Mukobwajana from Rwanda, Youth Secretary: Ms.Batula Noor Aden from Kenya, Women Secretary: Ms.Dorothy Nalubega from Uganda and Communication Secretary: Mr.Jean Claude Ntezimana from Rwanda.

Commissioners of Accounts are: Ms. Inamahoro Chantal from Burundi and Mr.Jospahat Mugo from Kenya.

For more Information:

EAGF Communication Secretary

Jean Claude Ntezimana

Tel: +250 788774757

Eastern Africa Greens Congress
EAGF Executive Committee
Closing Remarks from Dr.Frank Habineza ( the host)
With the press
Mr.Antoine Kinyomvyi from Burundi
Mr.John Makanga Ngorongo from Kenya
Ms.Inger Schörling from Sweden
Ugandan delegate, Robert Tumwesigye, reads out the declaration
DGPR President during the opening ceremony